This is my second attempt at archiving our journey through the world of trying to conceive our child together. This journey started in August 2010 and is still going. The road is hard and long, but Sheri and I both feel that it will be worth it in the end. Some may wonder at our sharing what is a very personal experience, but if our journey can help anyone else struggling to have a child, it's worth it.
Monday, February 6, 2012
Just some thoughts
I've been very anxious today, the past few days really. I hope that the test the 9th will finally be the one that turns up positive. This process - nearly a year in the making - has taken a toll from both of us. It's a toll we're both happy to pay, and will continue to pay for as long as it takes, but one that we feel nonetheless. It never occurred to me, when I was in my early 20's and decided to do the right thing and wait until the right time, that doing the right thing might makes things a lot harder. I think, though, that this will make us better parents ultimately. We'll appreciate exactly what this child is to us, because we'll have fought tooth and nail for it to be brought into the world. At least that's my hope. Sheri and I both have our flaws and our issues, and while I hope that we can avoid our kid seeing the worst of them, the reality of it is that they probably will. Will that make us bad parents? Or just human? What if we have a baby and we're both completely lost? We've both had experience with raising or helping to raise other peoples' kids, but how will we fare with our own? How will we handle the backlash when (if) our families raise issue with our interracial child? How will we handle the people who will inevitably feel it's in their right to voice their negative opinion of our little family? How will we prepare our kid to handle people's shit without us there to handle it for them? I suppose that these are questions every potential or new parent asks themselves. I know that Sheri and I love one another without question and that love will extend to our child, and that is the groundwork that everything else will be built upon. We'll be fine.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
You are exactly right, every parent (or at least I did.) I have been a momma for almost 5 years & still all the time ask myself these questions. You just go day by day. Kids don't come with manuals! You all will be great parents!! Love will see you thru!! <3
ReplyDelete